Our board

Vivien Sutherland Bridgwater, Chair

Vivien was appointed Chair in June 2011. In 2012 she represented Save the Children New Zealand at the global Members meeting in Bangladesh. Vivien is general manager of University Relations at Auckland University of Technology. She is of Ngati Whatua descent. Vivien has a strong commitment to youth , education and to creating a brighter future for all children.

Ros Stace, National President     

Ros first became involved with Save the Children in the United Kingdom. In New Zealand she has been involved with her local Hastings and District branch for many years, becoming president in 2008 and took on the role of regional vice-president throughout 2012. 

Peter Kane 

Peter chairs the Board’s Audit and Risk Committee. He was a partner at KPMG for10 years and subsequently a senior vice-president with global consultancy BearingPoint. Currently he is CEO of Unimarket Holdings, a technology company of which he is also an investor and director. He is a shareholder and director of the Momentum recruitment group and has had a range of executive contracting roles, including CEO at Sytec, GM Customer Operations at TelstraClear and CFO at Wrightsons.

Leah Carr

Leah is currently a company director and a management consultant and has worked at a senior level domestically and internationally for a wide range of organisations. Leah has sat on an international advisory panel to the Malaysian Government, was the general manager of Accessman Ltd, and is currently an appointed CERA Community Forum member.     

Joan Baker     

Joan chairs the Board’s Leadership and Remuneration Committee. She is a company director and a consultant to business and not-for-profit organisations. She was on the New Zealand Qualifications Authority Board and has been managing director of Scholastic NZ Ltd, marketing development manager of DB Breweries and president of the NZ Institute of Management.

Patricia Siataga

Patricia serves on the Board as the vice-presidents’ representative.

Veronica Ng Lam (Youth Observer)

Veronica is the inaugural leader and chair of Save the Children New Zealand’s Child & Youth Council (CYC) and sits on the Board as an observer. She is currently undertaking post-graduate studies at Auckland University of Technology. She sits on various committees and forums across the education sector, including AUT Council’s Pacific Education Working Group.